Four Panthers to Compete on World Stage at U23 Rowing Championships

By  //  July 12, 2012

Loading the player ...
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share on Delicious Digg This Stumble This

college athletics

MEN’S ROWING

TRAKAI • LITHUANIA — Four Panthers will represent Florida Tech at the U23 World Rowing Championships starting nest Wednesday and concluding Sunday on Lake Galve.

Beliauskas

Rising seniors Mindaugas Beliauskas and Jonas Karalius along with soon-to-be sophomore Ernestas Zarskis will race for Lithuania. Beliauskas will occupy the five seat and Karalius the six seat in the men’s eight. Zarskis will row in the men’s pair.

Racing for Spain in the men’s lightweight four without coxswain will be an incoming freshman,Jose Gomez-Feria.

Granger

“We’re really excited four members of our team will be competing and representing their countries in a race of this magnitude,” head coach Jim Granger said. “We wish them all the best.”

Beliauskas

The World Championships will open with heat races beginning Wednesday afternoon and extending into Thursday. After the repechages and semifinals, finals will kick off Saturday and wrap up Sunday.

On Thursday, Zarskis will race in one of three men’s pair heats, which are set to start at 3:19 a.m. EDT (10:19 a.m. Eastern European Summer Time).

Zarskis

Gomez-Feria will line up with his teammates for one of three men’s lightweight four without coxswain heats starting at 5:11 a.m. EDT  (12:11 p.m. EEST).

Beliauskas and Karalius will compete in one of two men’s eight heats beginning at 7:10 a.m. EDT (14:10 EEST).

Audio commentary and live results of the races will be available HERE 

CLICK HERE FOR REGATTA SCHEDULE 


Click here to contribute your news or announcements Free