Next Sheriff Self Defense Shooting Class July 26

By  //  July 6, 2014

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share on Delicious Digg This Stumble This

designed to give civilians safe gun handling skills

BREVARD COUNTY, FLORIDA – The next Brevard County Sheriff’s Office “Self Defense Through Tactical Shooting & Decision Making” Course is set for Saturday July 26.

The next Brevard County Sheriff’s Office “Self Defense Through Tactical Shooting & Decision Making” Course is set for Saturday July 26.

The next Brevard County Sheriff’s Office “Self Defense Through Tactical Shooting & Decision Making” Course is set for Saturday July 26.

This 8-hour course is designed to give civilians the opportunity to learn safe gun handling skills as well as the legal aspects of gun ownership. The course will be delivered in 4 parts:

Part 1 – Sheriff Wayne Ivey will speak on Self Defense Through Mental Preparedness
Part 2 – State Attorney Phil Archer will speak on the Law-Stand Your Ground and the Castle Doctrine
Part 3 – Tactical Shooting/Weapon Retention/Firearms Safety
Part 4 – Shoot, Don’t Shoot Scenarios

Upon completion of this course, you will receive a certificate as verification of training that satisfies the State training requirement to acquire your Concealed Weapons Permit from the State of Florida.

Upon completion of this course, you will receive a certificate as verification of training that satisfies the State training requirement to acquire your Concealed Weapons Permit from the State of Florida.

Upon completion of this course, you will receive a certificate as verification of training that satisfies the State training requirement to acquire your Concealed Weapons Permit from the State of Florida.

You can contact the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Division of Licensing at 850-245-5691 for further information about the permit process.

Concealed Weapons Packets can also be picked up at your local precinct. Click here to find the precinct nearest you.

Requirements & Other Information

• Must be 21 years of age or older and pass a background check.
• Serviceable Unloaded handgun (No sharing, No Title II, NFA or Assault Weapons)
• 100 rounds of factory Ammunition (no re-loads)
• Eye protection, ear protection and hat
• Inclement weather gear (recommended)

You can enroll by mailing the registration form and a $50 check or money order to the Brevard County Sheriff’s Office, Attention: Career Development Unit, 700 Park Avenue, Titusville, Fl 32780. Your check should be made payable to: Brevard County Sheriff’s Office, and the fee is non refundable.

Download the Registration Form (PDF Printable version)

Your check and registration form must be received no later than 10 days prior to class date to be enrolled. Once your payment and registration information are received, a confirmation of enrollment and directions to the firing range will be sent to you.

Other upcoming classes include August 30 and September 27.

If you have questions regarding this course, please contact the Career Development Unit at 321-264-5281.


Click here to contribute your news or announcements Free