Dal Pozzo Earns Eastern Florida State College Student-Athlete of Week Honors

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share on Delicious Digg This Stumble This

titans volleyball is currently 1-1 on the season

Volleyball player Mariana Dal Pozzo is Eastern Florida’s inaugural Student-Athlete of the Week for the 2015-2016- academic year. (Eastern Florida image)

Volleyball player Mariana Dal Pozzo is Eastern Florida’s inaugural Student-Athlete of the Week for the 2015-2016- academic year. (Eastern Florida image)

BREVARD COUNTY, FLORIDA – Volleyball player Mariana Dal Pozzo is Eastern Florida’s inaugural Student-Athlete of the Week for the 2015-2016- academic year

Dal Pozzo, a sophomore outside and right-side hitter from Blinn College and Toledo, PR, Brazil, totaled 24 kills as Eastern Florida opened its season by splitting two matches on Saturday.

Dal Pozzo recorded a team-high 13 kills as Eastern Florida fell in four sets to Florida State College Jacksonville and a team-high 11 kills as the Titans defeated Lake-Sumter State College in four sets.

Eastern Florida’s volleyball team opened its season on Saturday by splitting two matches at Lake-Sumter State College in Leesburg.

VIDEO: 2015 Eastern Florida Men’s Golf Titans Media DayRelated Story:
VIDEO: 2015 Eastern Florida Men’s Golf Titans Media Day

The Titans dropped their opener in four sets to Florida State College Jacksonville but rebounded to defeat host Lake-Sumter in four sets to finish the day at 1-1.

FSCJ prevailed 25-23, 18-25, 25-20 and 25-23 while EFSC beat Lake-Sumter 22-25, 25-20, 25-23 and 25-19.

Andrea Rasmussen

Andrea Rasmussen

“We improved during each match and saw some very positive things,” said Eastern Florida head coach Andrea Rasmussen.

“As we get more comfortable playing together we will continue to be successful.”

Next up for Eastern Florida is a 6 p.m. match on Wednesday at St. Johns River State College in Palatka.

EASTERN FLORIDA VOLLEYBALL SCHEDULE

Date

Day

Opponent

Time/Results

Aug. 15 Sat. Away @ Palm Beach Jamboree TBD
Aug. 19 Wed. Away vs. Florida Tech (scrimmage) 6 PM
Aug. 22 Sat. Away vs. FSCJ @ Lake Sumter L, 3-1 (0-1)
Aug. 22 Sat. Away vs. Lake Sumter W, 3-1 (1-1)
Aug. 26 Wed. Away vs. St. Johns River State College 6 PM
Aug. 28 Fri. Away vs. SC of FL Manatee# 5 PM
Aug. 29 Sat. Away vs. Santa Fe# 9 AM
Aug. 29 Sat. Away vs. Gulf Coast State College# 2 PM
Sept. 1 Tues. Home vs. Daytona State College 6 PM
Sept. 3 Thurs. Home vs. Hillsborough 6 PM
Sept. 5 Sat. Home vs. South Florida* 11 AM
Sept. 5 Sat. Home vs. Santa Fe* 3 PM
Sept. 8 Tues. Home vs. SC of Florida Manatee 6 PM
Sept. 11 Fri. Home vs. Webber University JV 6 PM
Sept. 15 Tues. Home vs. Indian River State College 6 PM
Sept. 18 Fri. Away vs. Webber University JV^ 2 PM
Sept. 18 Fri. Away vs. St. Petersburg College^ 4 PM
Sept. 19 Sat. Away vs. Pasco Hernando SC^ 12 PM
Sept. 19 Sat. Away vs. South Florida^ 2 PM
Sept. 22 Tues. Home vs. Miami Dade College 6 PM
Sept. 24 Thurs. Away vs. Palm Beach State College 6 PM
Sept. 25 Fri. Away vs. Broward College 1 PM
Sept. 29 Tues. Home vs. Polk State College 7 PM
Oct. 3 Sat. Home vs. St. Johns River State College 2 PM
Oct. 7 Wed. Away vs. Webber University JV 6 PM
Oct. 10 Sat. Away vs. Pensacola + 11 AM
Oct. 10 Sat. Away vs. Gulf Coast State College + 1 PM
Oct. 13 Tues. Away vs. Miami Dade College 6 PM
Oct. 15 Thurs. Home vs. Palm Beach State 6 PM
Oct. 20 Tues. Home vs. Broward College 6 PM
Oct. 22 Thurs. Away vs. Indian River State (Dig Pink Match) 5:30 PM
Oct. 30 Fri. Home vs. Lake Sumter State College 2 PM
Nov. 5-8 Thurs. – Sun. Away @ FCSAA State Tournament TBD

Click here to contribute your news or announcements Free