Florida State Statute Requires Drivers To Move Over For Stopped Emergency and Service Vehicles
By Space Coast Daily // January 15, 2017
During the month of January, and throughout the year, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is educating motorists on the “Move Over Law.”
While emergency and service workers are roadside, Florida State Statute 316.126requires you to “Move Over” a lane, when you can safely do so, for stopped law enforcement, emergency, sanitation, utility service vehicles and tow trucks or wreckers.
- If you are unable to move over, or when on a two-lane road, slow to a speed that is 20 mph less than the posted speed limit.
- When the posted speed limit is 20 mph or less, slow down to 5 mph
Last year showed the highest number of roadside crashes involving emergency and service vehicles in the last 5 years. Crashes due to “Move Over” violations are preventable. Don’t put the safety of law enforcement, first responders and service providers at risk.
CLICK HERE FOR BREVARD COUNTY NEWS