SpaceX Falcon 9 Rocket Set For Launch Early Tuesday Morning, Launch Window Opens At 1:34 a.m. ET

By  //  March 13, 2017

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share on Delicious Digg This Stumble This

launch window opens at 1:34 a.m. ET

ABOVE VIDEO: The private spaceflight company SpaceX test fired a Falcon 9 rocket Thursday (March 9), setting the stage for a commercial satellite launch set for March 14.

BREVARD COUNTY, FLORIDA – The private spaceflight company SpaceX test fired a Falcon 9 rocket Thursday (March 9), setting the stage for a commercial satellite launch set for March 14.

.

SpaceX conducted the Falcon 9 static test fire at Launch Pad 39A of NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Cape Canaveral, Florida to ensure that the rocket is ready to launch the communications satellite EchoStar 23 on Tuesday (March 14).

The test, which was captured on video by SpaceflightNow, is a standard preflight check ahead of every SpaceX launch.

The Falcon 9 rocket is scheduled to launch EchoStar 23 Tuesday during a nearly three-hour window that opens at 1:34 a.m. EST (0634 GMT) and closes at 4:04 a.m. EST (0904 GMT).

ULA Delta IV WGS-9 Launch From Cape Canaveral Set To Launch No Earlier Than March 14Related Story:
ULA Delta IV WGS-9 Launch From Cape Canaveral Set To Launch No Earlier Than March 14

It will mark SpaceX’s third launch of the year and its second from Pad 39A, which the company is leasing from NASA for commercial flights of Falcon 9 and Falcon Heavy rockets. NASA used the historic pad to launch Apollo moon missions and space shuttle flights.

SpaceX CEO and founder Elon Musk has said on Twitter that EchoStar 23 launch won’t include an attempt to land the Falcon 9 booster due to the weight of the satellite and the altitude of its final geostationary transfer orbit.

CLICK HERE TO READ MORE


Click here to contribute your news or announcements Free