Ivey Takes Oath As New Brevard Sheriff

By  //  January 8, 2013

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share on Delicious Digg This Stumble This

Succeeds Jack Parker In Position

BREVARD COUNTY COCOA FLORIDA – There’s a new sheriff in town and his name is Wayne Ivey.

Wayne Ivey of MIms, 50, has been sworn in as the new Brevard County Sheriff, succeeding Jack Park in the position. (Image courtesy of Brevard County Sheriff’s Department)

At a special swearing-in ceremony Monday night on the campus of Brevard Community College in Cocoa, Ivey took the oath of office as Brevard County Sheriff becoming the Space Coast’s foremost law enforcement officer.

Ivey, 50, has more than 31 years of law enforcement experience. He retired from the Florida Department of Law enforcement in 2011 to concentrate his efforts on a run for sheriff.

He left the FDLE as the resident agent in charge for Brevard and Volusia counties, so he’s familiar with the territory and the responsibilities of the job.

In his duties with the FDLE, Ivey helped create the Brevard County Sheriff’s Department’s GAMEOVER® Task Force, which removes violent and dangerous offenders from the streets.

“Wayne Ivey is an outstanding law enforcement officer who has made a real difference in Brevard County and the State of Florida,” said outgoing Brevard County Sheriff Jack Parker, who served to swear Ivey into his new job. “Wayne’s 30-plus years of law enforcement and leadership experience, coupled with a devout passion to help, is absolutely essential to address today’s complex public safety challenges.

“Wayne has played a critical role in creating and implementing innovative partnerships like the GAMEOVER® Task Force and has focused on removing violent criminals from our communities and protecting our children,” Parker said.

At the ceremony, Ivey introduced Commander Doug Waller as his new chief deputy and other members of his new command team staff.

Waller formerly served as chief of the sheriff’s criminal investigation division.

Ivey’s other top deputies include Commander Jimmy Donn (staff services), Chief Mike Lewis (judicial services), Commander Paul Chalko (patrol services),   Commander Alan Moros (criminal investigative services), Commander Paul Drinkwater (operational services) and Commander Greg Purden (administrative services).