Gov. Rick Scott Reappoints Two Eastern Florida Trustees

By  //  August 10, 2014

Dewey Harris and Myra Haley REAPPOINTED

BREVARD COUNTY, FLORIDA — Gov. Rick Scott has reappointed two members of the Eastern Florida State College Board of Trustees to new terms.

The trustees are Dewey Harris, director of the Harris Miller & Bernhardt, P.A., accounting firm in Rockledge, and Myra Haley, president of The Suntree Partners and the Igo Family Foundation.

Dr. Jim Richey
Dr. Jim Richey

“I value their leadership a great deal and will continue seeking their guidance as the college offers more new academic programs and initiatives in the years ahead,” said Eastern Florida President Dr. Jim Richey.

“Brevard County and the entire East-Central Florida region is fortunate to have them steering us forward.”

The two have played a key role in turning Eastern Florida State College into a four-year institution and approving 22 new academic programs since 2012, including nine Bachelor Degree tracks.

Gov. Rick Scott
Gov. Rick Scott

The programs are geared to fast-growth job fields and providing local and regional business and industry with skilled employees.

Eastern Florida President Dr. Jim Richey thanked Gov. Scott for the reappointments, saying Harris and Haley have “served the college in exemplary ways through their strong leadership and vision in providing more educational opportunities to residents in our community.”

Harris and Haley were first appointed to the Board of Trustees in 2010 and 2011, respectively. Their new four-year terms were announced Tuesday and run through May 31, 2018.

Eastern Florida State College Earns 10-Year AccreditationRelated Story:
Eastern Florida State College Earns 10-Year Accreditation

The reappointments are subject to confirmation by the Florida Senate.

The college’s other board members are chair Alan Landman, a Melbourne attorney, vice-chair Steve Charpentier, also a Melbourne attorney, and trustee Moses Harvin, president and CEO of American Services Technology, Inc., in Rockledge.