Former Astronauts Al Worden, Chris Ferguson Appointed To ASF Board Of Directors

By  //  July 1, 2016

ASF has awarded OVER $4 million TO 400 STUDENTS

ABOVE VIDEO: As command module pilot for the Apollo 15 mission to the moon in 1971, Al Worden flew on what is widely regarded as the greatest exploration mission that humans have ever attempted. He spent six days orbiting the moon, including three days completely alone, the most isolated human in existence. 

BREVARD COUNTY • CAPE CANAVERAL, FLORIDA – The Astronaut Scholarship Foundation (ASF) is pleased to announce the appointment of former astronauts Al Worden and Chris Ferguson to its board of directors.

This will be Ferguson’s first appointment to the board, while Worden, a past chairman for the organization, is returning after a brief time away.

Chris Ferguson
Chris Ferguson

Former astronaut Dan Brandenstein and current chairman of the board said, “Both gentlemen have a strong involvement with ASF and have a true commitment and enthusiasm for this mission.

“In addition to his corporate experiences, Al served on the board with many of the original Mercury 7 astronauts and brings a historical component that is invaluable.”

“Chris, who is very active in the aerospace industry, brings a fresh new perspective and a lot of insight into the corporate world,” Brandenstein said.

In addition to Worden and Ferguson, the board of directors consists of fifteen (15) former astronauts and four (4) business professionals, three (3) of whom are Astronaut Scholar alum.  CLICK HERE for a full listing of directors.

About Astronauts Worden and Ferguson

Worden is a retired United States Air Force Colonel and NASA astronaut inducted into the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame.  He is one of only twenty-four men to have flown to the Moon.

Al Wordon
Al Worden

He served as a member of the astronaut support crew for the Apollo 9 flight, backup command module pilot for the Apollo 12 flight and Command Module Pilot for Apollo 15.

Worden is recognized by the Guinness Book of World Records as the “most isolated human being” for his time alone in the Command Module Endeavour.

He has served as Senior Aerospace Scientist at the NASA Ames Research Center, chief of the Systems Study Division at Ames, President of Maris Worden Aerospace, Inc., and Staff Vice-President of BG Goodrich Aerospace.  He is the esteemed author of three books.

Ferguson is a retired United States Navy Captain and NASA astronaut.  A veteran of three space shuttle missions, he was the pilot of Space Shuttle Atlantis STS-115, commanded STS-126 aboard Space Shuttle Endeavour and commander of STS-135, the final mission of the space shuttle program.

He retired from NASA and is currently director of Crew and Mission Operations for Boeing.

Astronaut Scholarship Foundation:


The Astronaut Scholarship Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization established in 1984 by the six surviving Mercury 7 astronauts – Scott Carpenter, Gordon Cooper, John Glenn, Walter Schirra, Alan Shepard and Deke Slayton.

They came together with the goal to use their joint credibility to encourage students to pursue scientific endeavors.

Today, astronauts from the Mercury, Gemini, Apollo, Skylab and Space Shuttle programs are involved in the mission to award merit-based scholarships to the best and brightest undergraduate students who excel in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).

Orion’s Service Module Completes Critical Design Review, Will Enable Journey To MarsRelated Story:
Orion’s Service Module Completes Critical Design Review, Will Enable Journey To Mars

The prestigious Astronaut Scholarship is known nationwide for being among the highest scholarships awarded to undergraduate STEM students. Since its inception, ASF has awarded more than $4 million in scholarships to more than 400 of the nation’s top scholars.

The accomplishments of the Astronaut Scholar alum profoundly impact our nation through technological innovations in health care, energy, defense, homeland security and aerospace, including the appointment of Astronaut Scholar alumna Christina Hammock Koch to NASA’s 21st Astronaut Class.

The Astronauts Scholarship Fund was created by the Mercury Seven. Here they are in 1960 Back row: Alan Shepard, Gus Grissom, Gordon Cooper; front row:Wally Schirra, Deke Slayton, John Glenn,Scott Carpenter. This was the only time they would appear together in pressure suits.

CLICK HERE for more information or call 321-449-4876.