2018 Hurricane Season Opens, Disaster Preparedness Sales Tax Holiday Runs June 1-7

By  //  June 4, 2018

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share on Delicious Digg This Stumble This

Sales Tax Holiday passed by the Florida Legislature

The 2018 Disaster Preparedness Sales Tax Holiday which was passed by the Florida Legislature and signed into law by Governor Rick Scott begins Friday, June 1 and extends through Thursday, June 7.

BREVARD COUNTY, FLORIDA – The 2018 Disaster Preparedness Sales Tax Holiday which was passed by the Florida Legislature and signed into law by Governor Rick Scott begins Friday, June 1 and extends through Thursday, June 7.

During this sales tax holiday period, qualifying items related to disaster preparedness are exempt from sales tax.

However, the sales tax holiday does not apply to the rental or repair of any of the qualifying items. Additionally, the sales tax holiday does not apply to sales in a theme park, entertainment complex, public lodging establishment or airport.

For more information and a list of qualifying items, please see the Department of Revenue’s Taxpayer Information Publication on the 2018 Disaster Preparedness Sales Tax Holiday.

For your convenience, the Department has provided digital downloads and social media posts for individuals and businesses interested in sharing information about the sales tax holiday.

Promotional materials are available at floridarevenue.com/disasterprep

The 2018 Disaster Preparedness Sales Tax Holiday which was passed by the Florida Legislature and signed into law by Governor Rick Scott begins Friday, June 1 and extends through Thursday, June 7.
Check Out the Names For the 2018 Hurricane Season, Which Will Start On June 1Related Story:
Check Out the Names For the 2018 Hurricane Season, Which Will Start On June 1

QUALIFYING ITEM INCLUDE:

Selling for $10 or less: Reusable ice (reusable ice packs)

Selling for $20 or less: Any portable self-powered light source (powered by battery, solar, hand-crank, or gas): Candles, Flashlights, Lanterns

Selling for $25 or less: Any gas or diesel fuel container, including LP gas and kerosene containers.

Selling for $30 or less: Batteries, including rechargeable batteries, listed sizes only (excluding automobile and boat batteries): AAA-cell, AA-cell, C-cell, D-cell, 6-volt, 9-volt; Coolers and ice chests (food-storage; nonelectrical)

Selling for $50 or less: Bungee cords; Ground anchor systems; Radios (powered by battery, solar, or handcrank), Two-way, Weather band; Ratchet straps; Tarpaulins (tarps) and Tie-down kits; Visqueen, plastic sheeting, plastic drop cloths, and other flexible waterproof sheeting

Selling for $750 or less: Portable generators used to provide light or communications or to preserve food in the event of a power outage. Eligible light sources and radios qualify for the exemption even if electrical cords are also included.

CLICK HERE FOR BREVARD COUNTY NEWS

Leave a Comment