The Legend of Zelda Video Game Review

By  //  March 11, 2020

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share on Delicious Digg This Stumble This
The Legend of Zelda is considered royalty in the video games realm and resonates with nearly every avid video game player.

The Legend of Zelda is considered royalty in the video games realm and resonates with nearly every avid video game player.

This Nintendo series began in 1986 and is developed around action-adventure missions set in the mythical land of Hyrule. Princess Zelda usually rules the kingdom, but she is often in danger of losing her power to the evil warlord Ganon.

The Legend of Zelda features Link as its protagonist whose green outfit places him in a category similar to that of Peter Pan and Robin Hood.

Link is tasked with rescuing the kingdom of Hyrule by collecting powerful artefacts placed in lands already overtaken by Ganon.

The Legend of Zelda has had more than 20 game releases, even as the free slots online format, that complete the series, all of which offer different versions of the storyline, but they all take place in the Kingdom of Hyrule.

Link often appears in various incarnations from small boys to young men, and in some, he appears as the same person. Princess Zelda is usually displayed as either the love interest or guide for Link, and in some games, she serves as both.

The antagonist is also switched up in some releases, and some of the featured ones are the Usurper King Zant, Vaati the Wind Mage, and General Onox, the General of Darkness.

Here is a are some of the releases that appear in the series:

The Legend of Zelda

The Legend of Zelda was first released in 1986 in Japan. The game did not hit the European and American markets until the following year.

Looking at this game today, it features elementary standards considering how far video games have come. However, during its release, it was far ahead of its time and influenced a great deal of game development at the time.

The use of numerous different defence items, ability to save gameplay in the game’s memory, and a range of hidden hints to follow are a few of the innovations that came with the title.

The ability for the game to be played in real-time where players went to war with monsters and solved puzzles was widely mirrored by other games in Asia and North America.

The Adventure of Link

The Adventure of Link is the second instalment in this video game series, and it was released in 1988. The set featured several improvements from the first version, such as the use of side-scrolling rather than giving a top-down perspective.

This game is considered a black sheep of the lot since it is one of two releases where Link does not collect rupees on his quest to save the kingdom of Hyrule.

Ocarina of Time

Ocarina of Time marked the entry of The Legend of Zelda into the world of 3D imaging. The game hit the market between November and December of 1998, and to say it was well-received would be an understatement.

The set, which was initially dubbed Zelda 64, is labelled among the best and most successful releases since the beginning of video gaming time.

Not only did it perform well commercially, but it also rubbed critics the right way to get perfect scores in reviews. 

The title marked the transition of the series into 3D imaging and included new gameplay mechanics that would carry on to following instalments in the series.

In this game, players were allowed to use lock-on targeting, which redirected the camera focus to a nearby target. On top of that, Link or any other protagonist’s actions were altered to battle it out with the threat accordingly.

The action was made a lot more immersive by its three-dimensional delivery, which tied the traditional elements of the game together with much newer and exciting ones.

Four Swords

Four Swords was released in December of 2002 and was the first title in the Legend of Zelda: Four Swords instalment. Four Swords was the first game in the series that was only played in multiplayer mode, which took the fun up a significant notch.

This version presents Link and Princess Zelda as childhood friends, and it is also the first time gamers interact with the Four Sword and Vaati as the villain.

Since the game was released on the twenty-fifth anniversary of the game, it was made available for free on Nintendo 3DS and DSi. A single-player version was also made available later on. 

The Four Swords sub-series featured three more releases, which are The Wind Waker, Four Swords Adventures, and The Minish Cap.

These games all have the Four Swords feature, but the storylines followed differ from each other. For instance, Four Swords Adventures ditches the conventional gameplay of other releases to focus on multiplayer and level-based gameplay.

The set unfolds as two games in one with one taking Link on an adventure around Hyrule while the other pits him against other players for control of arenas in the kingdom.


The Legend of Zelda continues to amass a significant following across the globe with releases dating as recently as 2019. Each new set in the series is considered an improvement on previous ones, which marks a bright future ahead for this Nintendo video game.