WATCH: Cocoa Beach City Commission Holds Regular Meeting Thursday Night

By  //  August 18, 2022

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share on Delicious Digg This Stumble This

ABOVE VIDEO: Cocoa Beach City Commission Meeting Holds Meeting Thursday Night.

Meet the Cocoa Beach City Commission

Mayor Ben Malik, Seat 1 (Term expires November 2024)

Elected as Mayor in 2016, Ben Malik is originally from Boca Raton, Florida, but has called Cocoa Beach home since 2007. He graduated from the University of Florida with a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration and went on to receive his Masters in Business Administration. Currently, the Mayor works for a community bank as a Vice President/Area Relationship Manager. Mayor Malik is also a proud husband and father of two.

Commissioner Ed Martinez, Seat 2 (Term expires November 2024)

Elected as Commissioner in 2016, Ed Martinez works as an Information Systems Security Officer and is proud to call himself a Cocoa Beach Business Owner. His leadership skills were honed in the military and technical management programs. As a community member he strives to be involved community projects and events – Cocoa Beach Art Show, is a member of the Cocoa Beach Mainstreet and Chairman of the Promotions Committee. Commission Martinez is not all work and no play though; he is a proud father, husband, and surfer. As a business owner he is aware that there needs to be a balance between business growth and maintaining the small town lifestyle we all love.

Commissioner Karalyn Woulas, Seat 3 (Term expires November 2024)

Elected as Commissioner in 2016, Karalyn Woulas has been a resident of Cocoa Beach since 2008. She holds a Bachelor’s of Science in Aerospace Engineering, a Bachelor’s in Applied Mathematics from the Florida Institute of Technology and a Master’s Degree in Project Management from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University. Currently, she is employed as a Range Safety Engineer at the Forty-Fifth Space Wing (United States Space Force). In her spare time she manages two musical bands as the lead singer and guitar player. Her interests lie in improving the City and preserving the small town lifestyle, while nurturing opportunities to moderately redevelop aging infrastructure found in the City, in order to maintain the lifestyle that we as citizens of Cocoa Beach live for today.

Commissioner Skip Williams, Seat 4 (Term expires November 2022)

Elected as Commissioner in 2007, Skip Williams is originally from Indian River County, Florida and has been a resident of Cocoa Beach since 1986. He holds a Mechanical Engineering Degree from the Florida Institute of Technology and a Master’s Degree in Engineering from the University of Central Florida. Currently employed at NASA, he works in the Ground Systems Development and Operations Program. Commission Williams takes an active role in community programs, having served as the Chairperson of the Cocoa Beach waterways and Wildlife Board, graduated from the Cocoa Beach Citizen’s Academy, and is a member of the Fire Department Community Emergency Response Team (CERT). His affiliations include: volunteering for Keep Brevard Beautiful; member of Christian Surfer Cocoa Beach; attends Calvary Chapel Surfside.

Commissioner Mike Miller, Seat 5 (Term expires November 2022)

Elected in 2017, Commissioner Miller is originally from Dayton, Ohio, but began calling Cocoa Beach home in 2012. He is a graduate of Miami (Ohio) University and is a Registered Architect in Florida. Commissioner Miller has graduated from the Cocoa Beach Citizen’s Academy and has served as a Chairperson on the Cocoa Beach Planning Board. His affiliations include being a volunteer for SHINE (Serving Health Insurance Needs of Elders).

Cocoa Beach City Commission
Commissioner Mike Miller, Commissioner Skip Williams, Mayor Ben Malik, Vice Mayor Karalyn Woulas, and Commissioner Ed Martinez