WATCH: Brevard Schools Foundation Announces Top Teacher, Employee and Volunteers for Brevard Public Schools

By  //  January 26, 2023

ceremony was held at Radisson at the Port

ABOVE VIDEO: Annual ABC Awards – Applauding Brevard’s Champions – At the Radisson Resort in Cape Canaveral.

WATCH: The annual ABC “Applauding Brevard’s Champions” Awards Gala, presented by Champion Sponsor Community Credit Union and Super Star Sponsor Connection Public Sector Solutions, and co-hosted by Brevard Schools Foundation and Brevard Public Schools, is being held at the Radisson at the Port, Cape Canaveral.

BREVARD COUNTY, FLORIDA – The ABC (Applauding Brevard’s Champions) Awards Gala, presented by Community Credit Union and hosted by Brevard Schools Foundation, was held on January 25, 2023, at the Radisson at the Port, Cape Canaveral.

During the celebration, Brevard Public Schools announced their annual award winners from various categories including: Administrators of the Year, Volunteers of the Year, Employee of the Year (EOY), and the Teacher of the Year (TOY).

Two additional categories included Rookie Teacher of the Year (first year teachers) and Emerging Teacher of the Year (second year teachers).

“We are excited to continue this important community event that ‘Applauds Brevard’s Champions’ – our everyday heroes in Brevard’s Public Schools,” said Janice Kershaw, CEO/President, Brevard Schools Foundation.

“The teachers, employees, administrators, and volunteers are dedicated and passionate about preparing our students for the future. This event allows us to applaud a selection of them for their commitment to the Brevard’s Best Education.”

This year’s top winners are:

Teacher of the Year – Pamela Brockmeyer, Mathematics Teacher, Cocoa High School

Nominated by her peers and selected by a review committee, Mrs. Brockmeyer stood out for her positive attitude, competitive spirit, incredible commitment to student achievement, and overwhelming contributions to her school community.

With over 24 years as an educator, she extended her influence beyond the classroom also serving as math department head, Brevard Federation Teachers building representative, Girls Golf Coach, football announcer, mentor and professional development presenter, and Advanced Placement Board exam reader.

Entering here advanced match classes, such as Algebra 2 and AP Calculus, Mrs. Brockmeyer utilizes engagement techniques to encourage students to learn the content from multiple perspectives.

She creates math games to excite students about the challenges of the rigorous coursework and encourages positive competition o help make learning fund in what can be a frustrating lass for some.

In her teacher leadership roles, Mrs. Brockmeyer’s experience and her positive spirit of collaboration lead her mentees and peers to seek her assistance implementing best practice instructional strategies, such as Kagan.

Ms. Brockmeyer will represent Brevard at the state level and will be considered for the Christa McAuliffe Ambassador for Education which acts as a representative and spokesperson for the teaching profession throughout Florida.

Employee of the Year – Roderick Foster, Technology Associate, Ronald McNair Magnet Middle School

Named at a reception in November, Mr. Foster bridges the gap in technology and education from the district level to direct support at the school level for McNair Magnet Middle School. As the district deploys various initiatives and technologies to meet the needs of students and teachers inside and outside the classroom, Mr. Foster works with the Educational Technology team to support the system, teachers and students.

“Since I became an employee of Brevard Public Schools and McNair, I’ve been driven by my motivation to be a source of support and guidance and serve as a productive resident of our Rockledge community,” said Mr. McNair.

“I always start my day with this motto in mind, ‘Be the standard,’ and lead by doing my best and trying to be better than the day before.”

Foster will represent Brevard in the Florida School-Related Employee of the Year program.

Administrators of the Year

The Principal’s Achievement Award for Outstanding Leadership and the Outstanding Assistant Principal Award recognizes exemplary principals and assistant principals for their contributions to their schools and communities.

Awards were announced at the school district’s annual summer leadership conference.

Brevard’s representatives are:

Blair Lovelace, Coquina Elementary School, Principal Achievement Award for Outstanding Leadership

Kelly Grugan, Riviera Elementary School, Outstanding Assistant Principal Achievement Award

Volunteers of the Year

The Outstanding School Volunteer Award recognizes school volunteers who have shown outstanding dedication and commitment to their school through volunteer service. This award has three categories –youth, adult, and senior.

Brevard’s winners are: 

Volunteer of the Year, Youth – Emma Aiken, Heritage High School
Volunteer of the Year, Adult – Robert Koehler, Rockledge High School
Volunteer of the Year, Senior – Andrew Daniher, Titusville High School

Rookie Teacher of the Year– Recognize outstanding educators in their first year of teaching.

Jana Doss, Ralph M. Williams, Jr. Elementary School – Rookie Teacher of the Year- Elementary
Megan Hutera, Herbert C. Hoover Middle School – Rookie Teacher of the Year- Middle
Brooke Davis, Cocoa Beach Jr./Sr. High School – Rookie Teacher of the Year-Secondary

Emerging Teachers of the Year Recognizes outstanding educators in their second year of teaching.

Ashe-Leigh Wells, West Melbourne Elementary School for Science, Emerging Teacher of the Year – Elementary
Sharona Franklin, Stone Magnet Middle School, Emerging Teacher of the Year – Middle
Melanie Richardson, West Shore Jr./Sr. High School, Emerging Teacher of the Year – Secondary