National Junior College Soccer Finals Open Monday

By  //  November 12, 2012

BCC Top Tournament Seed

[gmarker marker_latitude=”” marker_longitud=”” marker_label=””] [/gmarker]


BREVARD COUNTY • MELBOURNE, FLORIDA – A strong field of 12 teams has been assembled for the NJCAA Division I Women’s Soccer National Championship Tournament, hosted by BCC and held at Melbourne Central Catholic High School starting Monday.

BCC women’s soccer players are preparing for the national championship tournament next week in Melbourne. From left are Sue Kumaning, Jess Fassnidge, Jade Rhodes and Lois Edvardsson. (Image courtesy of BCC)

In addition to defending national champion Tyler Junior College of Texas (16-2-2) the field features 2011 national finalist Darton College of Georgia (13-5) and returnees Butler County Community College of Kansas (22-2) and Monroe Community College of New York (17-1).

Paradise Valley Community College of Arizona (19-0-1), the 2010 national champion, is back after a one-year absence.

Tournament host Brevard Community College (13-1) makes its first appearance and is the top seed.

Also competing are Laramie County Community College of Wyoming (13-2), St. Louis Community College of Missouri (16-3-1), College of Lake County of Illinois (16-1-1), Muskegon Community College of Michigan (8-4-1), Iowa Western Community College (17-1-1) and Louisburg College of North Carolina (13-6).

BCC beat St. Louis, Butler and Darton this season, losing only to Tyler.

Four games of tournament pool play begin at 9 a.m. Monday, Nov. 12 and continue at 11:30 a.m., and 2 and 4:30 p.m.

They continue on Tuesday, Nov. 13 and Wednesday, Nov. 14.  The tournament semifinals are set for 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. Friday, Nov. 16 and the national championship game set for 6 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 17.

All games will be played at Melbourne Central Catholic High School at 100 Florida Avenue in Melbourne.

Admission prices for tournament games are: Daily passes: Adult, $10, student, $7; tournament passes: Adult, $25, student, $15. Children 5 and under will be admitted for free.

Games will be webcast at and on NJCAATV at