Nina Armagno Receives Space Leadership Award

By  //  April 5, 2015

45th Space Wing commander receives Gen. Jerome F. O'Malley Distinguished Space Leadership Award

45th SW commander receives 2014 O'Malley Distinguished Space Leadership Award-580-1
Maj. Gen. Nina Armagno, 45th Space Wing commander, is presented the Gen. Jerome F. O’Malley Distinguished Space Leadership Award by retired Maj. Gen. Roger Burg, left, who presented the award on behalf of his wife Sharon O’Malley-Burg. Also pictured above are Scott Van Cleef, National Air Force Association Chairman of the Board, far right, and Don Kidd, Air Force Association Lance P. Sijan Chapter president. (Image for

Maj. Gen. Nina Armagno, 45th Space Wing commander, received the 2014 Gen. Jerome F. O’Malley Distinguished Space Leadership Award during an Air Force Ball hosted by the Lance P. Sijan Chapter of the Air Force Association and Air Force Space Command held in Colorado Springs, Colorado, on March 20.

45thSPACE=WING-180Armagno was selected for the award in recognition of her outstanding leadership throughout her 27-year career for “the application of space capabilities to deliver combat effects to the warfighter” and a “flawless launch mission success record delivering next-generation space capabilities in support of the U.S. and the world,” according to the citation accompanying the award.

In addition, she holds the distinction as the only Air Force officer to command both the U.S. Eastern and Western Ranges culminating in an unprecedented, flawless record with over 48 successful campaigns valued over $19 billion, says the citation.

Nina Armagno-180
Maj. Gen. Nina Armagno

“I am so humbled when I read the list of this award’s past recipients because to have someone say that I measure up to that standard of leadership is truly an honor,” she said.

“I want everyone to know that this award is not just for me but for the many members of the 45th Space Wing and all the amazing Airmen who serve today.  I’m lucky to be surrounded by their incredible talent, skill, innovation, dedication, and professionalism – and laser mission focus to deliver space affects to the battlefield and to the world.”

The award was established by the Lance P. Sijan Chapter of the AFA and recognizes leader’s contributions in achieving General O’Malley’s vision of providing an intensified space focus and reorienting Air Force philosophy toward an operational approach by advocating the operational use of space systems at the highest levels of the Air Force.

Past Recipients of the General Jerome F. O’Malley Distinguished Space Leadership Award include:

Air Force Logo - Silver and Blue 3D, with text2002   Lt Gen Roger DeKok
2003   General John Jumper
2004   Maj Gen Richard Webber
2004   Lt Gen Larry James
2005   Brig Gen Theresa Djuric
2006   Lt Randall Claar
2007   Brig Gen Jay Raymond
2008   Col Stephen Whiting
2009   Maj Gen John Hyten
2009   General James Cartwright
2010   General C. Robert Kehler
2011    Brig Gen David Thompson
2012   Brig Gen Kevin McLaughlin
2013   Brig Gen David J. Buck