Florida Tech President McCay Presented Sunshine State Conference Mayors’ Cup Trophy

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share on Delicious Digg This Stumble This

amassed 38 points across eight conference sports

ABOVE: Florida Tech Athletic Director Bill Jugens, left, Sunshine State Conference Commissioner Ed Pasque, right and Melbourne Mayor Kathy Meehan, second from right, present Florida Tech President T. Dwayne McCay with the SSC Men’s Mayors’ Cup.

BREVARD COUNTY • MELBOURNE, FLORIDA – Sunshine State Conference Commissioner Ed Pasque and Melbourne Mayor Kathy Meehan presented Florida Tech President T. Dwayne McCay with the SSC Men’s Mayors’ Cup on Tuesday. The Panthers garnered the Mayors’ Cup as a result of the success of the men’s athletic programs in 2016-17.

This was the third Mayors’ Cup championship for the Panthers and the first since the 2011-12 athletic year.

First presented following the 1986-87 academic year, the award was traditionally sponsored by the Mayors of the nine communities in which SSC member institutions are located.

“Congratulations to President McCay, Bill Jurgens and the entire Florida Tech Athletic Department and student-athlete community on an outstanding academic year,” said SSC Commissioner Ed Pasque.

In the men’s division, points are awarded based on final regular-season conference standings in baseball, basketball, lacrosse, soccer, and tennis*. Points are awarded based on a team’s finish at their respective conference championship event for cross-country, golf, and swimming.

Florida Tech amassed 38 points across eight conference sports to win the award for a third time. Following the Fall/Winter sport seasons, the Panthers sat in second place with 17 points. FIT earned those points with a second place finish in soccer, fourth in cross country, fourth in swimming, and seventh in basketball.

The Panthers rallied to score 21 points in the Spring following Top-3 finishes in four sports. FIT was second in lacrosse, third in baseball, third at the golf championship, and sixth in the tennis standings. Florida Tech won its first Mayors’ Cup outright in 1992 and shared the award with Florida Southern College in 2012.

Florida Institute of Technology Recognized Among Fastest-Growing U.S. UniversitiesRelated Story:
Florida Institute of Technology Recognized Among Fastest-Growing U.S. Universities

Barry University and the University of Tampa tie for second place with 36 points in the final Mayors’ Cup standings. Barry won conference championships basketball, golf, and tennis to earn 25 points. The Buccaneers also finished fourth in soccer and fifth in baseball.

The Spartans led the race following the Fall/Winter sports seasons with 19 points. UT finished third in soccer and swimming, followed by fourth in basketball and then fifth in cross country. Tampa grabbed championships in baseball and lacrosse this spring to force a tie for second place.

2016-17 Mayors’ Cup Men’s Division
1. Florida Tech – 38
T2. Barry – 36
T2. Tampa – 36
4. Florida Southern – 33
5. Lynn – 32
6. Saint Leo – 29
7. Rollins – 25.5
8. Nova Southeastern – 24
9. Eckerd – 17.5