VIDEO: Former Gator Football Player Fred Taylor Named To 2015 SEC Legends Class

By  //  October 1, 2015

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share on Delicious Digg This Stumble This

ABOVE VIDEO: The SEC announced Gator great Fred Taylor, a standout running back from 1994 to 1997, is among its 2015 SEC Football Legends class, a collection of former college football standouts in the conference. (Florida Gators Video)

GAINESVILLE, FLORIDA ( – The Southeastern Conference on Tuesday announced its 2015 SEC Football Legends class, a collection of former football standouts who will be honored at events surrounding the SEC Football Championship Game in Atlanta in December.

The 2015 Football Legends Class includes 14 former stars who excelled on the gridiron and helped write the rich history of the sport at their respective institutions. This year’s class includes All-Americans, All-SEC selections and Academic All-Americans as well as NCAA and SEC record holders.

The group represents teams that won National and SEC Championships and are represented in state, school and college football halls of fame.

Taylor, a standout running back from 1994-97, earned first-team All-America honors from the Walter Camp Football Foundation and was named All-SEC his senior year, leading the Gators in rushing that season with 1,292 yards on 214 carries and a team-high 13 touchdowns.

Taylor had eight 100-yard rushing performances and served as a team captain that stellar season.

He was a first-round selection in the 1998 NFL Draft by the Jacksonville Jaguars and went on to record seven 1,000-yard rushing seasons to rank No. 15 on the NFL’s all-time rushing yards list. He retired from the NFL following the 2010 season after a 13-year career with the Jaguars and Patriots.

The class will be honored at the 2015 SEC Football “Weekend of Champions” Dec. 4-5 in Atlanta, Ga. The annual SEC Legends Dinner presented by AT&T will be held Dec. 4 at the Hyatt Regency in Atlanta and the group will also be recognized prior to the SEC Football Championship Game, which will be held at the Georgia Dome on Sat., Dec. 5.

Florida-Missouri Game Time Announced: 7:30 p.m. On SEC NetworkRelated Story:
Florida-Missouri Game Time Announced: 7:30 p.m. On SEC Network

Below is a listing of the 2015 SEC Football Legends:

ALABAMA – Woodrow Lowe, Linebacker, 1972-75
ARKANSAS – Madre Hill, Running Back, 1994-95; 1998
AUBURN – Takeo Spikes, Linebacker, 1995-97
FLORIDA – Fred Taylor, Running Back, 1994-97
GEORGIA – Richard Seymour, Defensive Tackle, 1997-2000
KENTUCKY – Dave Roller, Defensive Line, 1968-70
LSU – Alan Faneca, Offensive Guard, 1995-97
OLE MISS – Ken Lucas, Defensive Back, 1997-2000
MISSISSIPPI STATE – Mario Haggan, Linebacker, 1998-2002
MISSOURI – Roger Wehrli, Defensive Back, 1966-68
SOUTH CAROLINA – Andre’ Goodman, Cornerback, 1997-2001
TENNESSEE – Chuck Smith, Defensive End, 1990-91
TEXAS A&M – Bubba Bean, Running Back, 1972-75
VANDERBILT – Earl Bennett, Wide Receiver, 2005-07

Fred Taylor (GatorZone Image)