No. 1 LSU Tigers Claim National Title After Overcoming Double-Digit Deficit to Beat No. 3 Clemson 42-25

By  //  January 14, 2020

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share on Delicious Digg This Stumble This

LSU Claims 4th National Title

ABOVE VIDEO: Trevor Lawrence and the Clemson Tigers come out strong, but Joe Burrow and the LSU Tigers close the first half with 21 straight points. Burrow has thrown for three touchdowns and run in another. (ESPN Video)

NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA (LSU TIGERS) – Led by Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Joe Burrow’s six-touchdown performance, Ed Orgeron’s top-ranked Fighting Tigers of LSU earned the title 2019 National Champions and arguably The Best Team Ever.

LSU (15-0) proved its dominant season by ending Clemson’s 29-game winning streak in a 42-25 victory over the defending champs.

The Tigers – playing 60 minutes southeast of the Baton Rouge campus – won the fourth national championship in program history – 1958, 2003, 2007 and 2019. Orgeron became the third-straight LSU head coach to win a title.

Burrow, Offensive Player of the Game, was 31-of-49 passing for 463 yards with five touchdown passes, while adding another 58 rushing yards and including a TD run.

After facing its biggest deficit of the season – 17-7 early in the second quarter – LSU scored 21 unanswered points to lead 28-17 at halftime. Though Clemson narrowed the margin to three, LSU scored the final 14 points of the contest.

LSU linebacker Patrick Queen was named Defensive Player of the Game after leading the Tigers with eight tackles including 2.5 behind the line of scrimmage.


No. 1 LSU Tigers Square Off With Defending Champion No. 3 Clemson Tigers in New OrleansRelated Story:
No. 1 LSU Tigers Square Off With Defending Champion No. 3 Clemson Tigers in New Orleans