ITIL Certification: Navigating the World of IT Service Management

By  //  November 2, 2023

ITIL is a set of best practices that enable organizations to align their IT services with their business needs, ensuring efficient service delivery and support.

If you’re looking to enhance your IT skills and career prospects, pursuing a ITIL Certification can be a game-changer. In this blog, we’ll explore the world of ITIL certifications and delve into the specifics of ITIL Change Management, a crucial component of the ITIL framework.

Table of Contents

  • What is ITIL Certification?  
  • The Benefits of ITIL Certification  
  • Types of ITIL Certifications  
  • ITIL Change Management  
  • ITIL Change Management’s Function in IT Service Management  
  • Conclusion

What is ITIL Certification? 

AXELOS offers the worldwide recognised ITIL Certification, which attests to your proficiency in IT service management using the ITIL framework. An organised method for handling IT services, from design and transition to operation and ongoing improvement, is offered by ITIL. IT workers and organisations may increase overall customer happiness, save costs, and improve service quality with the support of ITIL certifications.

The Benefits of ITIL Certification 

There are several advantages to pursuing ITIL certification for people and organisations. 

  1. Obtaining an ITIL certification improves your credentials and shows that you are dedicated to following industry best practices for IT service management. Opportunities for professional progression and new employment may arise as a result. 
  2. Gaining an ITIL certification gives you a thorough grasp of IT service management, enabling you to make wise choices and enhance the IT procedures in your company. 
  3. IT services may be more efficient and with less downtime when they follow ITIL practices. This results in lower expenses and higher-quality services. 
  4. ITIL assists businesses in delivering better service and, as a result, higher customer satisfaction by coordinating IT services with business goals and emphasising continual development. 

Types of ITIL Certifications 

ITIL provides a certification programme with many levels, each tailored to address distinct facets of IT service management. Among the levels are:  

  1. ITIL Foundation: An overview of ITIL practises and concepts is given via this entry-level certification. It is appropriate for those who are new to ITIL and is a requirement for certification at a higher level. 
  2. ITIL Practitioner: This certification attempts to close the gap between ITIL theory and actual implementation by emphasising the use of ITIL concepts in the workplace. 
  3. ITIL Intermediate: There are two certification tracks for ITIL Intermediate: Service Lifecycle and Service Capability. A deeper exploration of ITIL practises pertaining to various facets of IT service management is provided by each stream. 
  4. ITIL Expert: Those who want to show that they have a thorough grasp of ITIL and how to apply it should get to this level. It calls for a mix of credits from the Practitioner, Intermediate, and Foundation levels. 
  5. ITIL Master: ITIL Master certification is the highest level in the ITIL hierarchy, reserved for those who have attained a deep comprehension of ITIL concepts and have used them in practical settings. Candidates must submit a portfolio showcasing their practical competence in order to be considered for this level. 

ITIL Change Management 

Change management, a crucial step in IT service management, is one of the mainstays of ITIL. Change management reduces risk and business interruption by ensuring that modifications to IT services and systems are organised, assessed, approved, and successfully implemented. A few crucial facets of ITIL Change Management are as follows: 

  1. ITIL Change Management identifies three categories of changes: Standard Changes, Normal Changes, and Emergency Changes. There are distinct protocols and permission levels for each kind.  
  2. Change Models: Known as preset processes, change models provide an organised method for managing various kinds of changes. These models guarantee consistency and expedite the process of transformation. 
  3. Change Advisory Board (CAB): The CAB is in charge of reviewing, endorsing, or disapproving changes. Although the CAB’s membership and duties might change, it usually consists of important stakeholders and specialists. 
  4. Change Assessment: ITIL mandates a comprehensive assessment of a change’s potential effects on stakeholders, processes, and services prior to its implementation. This assessment aids in risk mitigation and informed decision-making. 
  5. Release and Deployment Management: Release and Deployment Management is an additional ITIL procedure that is closely linked to Change Management. Changes are incorporated into the live system efficiently and effectively thanks to release and deployment management. 

ITIL Change Management’s Function in IT Service Management 

Sustaining the stability and dependability of IT systems requires effective change management. Organisations that handle changes in an unstructured manner run the risk of experiencing service interruptions, security lapses, and a mismatch with business requirements. A framework for managing change in a manner that reduces risks and maximises benefits is provided by ITIL Change Management. 

In addition to protecting IT services, change management advances overarching business goals. It helps organisations adjust to changing market trends and technological advancements and guarantees that adjustments are in line with business requirements. A well-executed Change Management procedure may also result in more productivity, lower expenses, and happier customers. 


While ITIL Change Management is a key component in making sure that changes are done with the least amount of risk and disruption possible, ITIL Certification provides an organised method of managing IT services. You may improve your IT abilities, create new career prospects, and help your company succeed by obtaining ITIL Certification and understanding the concepts of Change Management. These skills will help you match IT services with business requirements, increase productivity, and satisfy customers.