Posey Congratulates Military Academy Appointees

By  //  June 19, 2012

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share on Delicious Digg This Stumble This

Future Officers

WASHINGTON, D.C – Military service requires tremendous self sacrifice, devotion to country and a commitment to protecting the liberty of millions of Americans.

U.S. Rep. Bill Posey has offered congratulations to nine students appointed to U.S. Service Academies. (Image courtesy Office of Congressman Bill Posey)

The burden of military service often entails long periods of time away from family, physical demands, intense training and discipline needed to accomplish the mission.

U.S. Congressman Bill Posey of Rockledge knows the hardships military service brings and says he is in awe of those who are willing to lay down their lives, if necessary, to defend America.

Posey said he congratulates nine students from the 15th Congressional District on their appointments to the U.S. Service Academies.

The appointment process is very detailed, highly selective and ia based on a candidate’s academic achievement, athletic ability, extra-curricular activities and community service.

The nation’s service academies consist of the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, N.Y., the U.S. Naval Academy at Annapolis, Md., the U.S. Air Force Academy at Colorado Springs, Colo., the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, N.Y. and the U.S. Coast Guard Academy in New London. Conn.

“I’m pleased to see that through our nomination process so many students are eager to serve our nation and I congratulate these fine young men and women on their appointments to our nation’s military service academies,” Posey said.

The following students from District 15 were nominated by Posey and received appointments:

U.S. Military Academy: Rachel Greer of Melbourne High School, Cody Rothschild of Palm Bay High School and Luis Vega of Palm Bay High School.

U.S. Naval Academy: Rachel Griffin of Merritt Island High School and Siera Snapp of Sebastian River High School.

U.S. Air Force Academy: Vaughn Campbell of Osceola High School, Anthony Kochensparger of Sebastian River High School, Sean Ledfors of Sebastian River High School and Jacob Redito of West Shore Jr./Sr. High School.