Standouts Awarded Congressional Medal of Merit

By  //  May 2, 2013

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share on Delicious Digg This Stumble This

2013 Congressional Medal of Merit

_Medal-Honor-595-1 2013 CONGRESSIONAL MEDAL OF MERIT RECIPIENTS INCLUDE: Brianna Bowling, Cocoa High School; Magnolia Burklew, Rockledge High School; Deborah Carey, Satellite High School; Sean Carroll, Holy Trinity Episcopal Academy; Olivia Clack, Merritt Island High School; Hope Crawford, Merritt Island Christian School; Jacob Crisafulli, Eau Gallie High School; Michael Diotte, Bayside High School, David Elliott, Edgewood High School, Amanda Farthing, West Shore High School, Ryan Garwood, Viera High School; Dylan Henry, Heritage High School; Caroline Kingsbury, Florida Air Academy, Kayrol Leslie, Melbourne High School, Emily McLaughlin, Titusville High School; Katelyn Meesakul, Space Coast High School, Brook Vilardebo, Melbourne Central Catholic High School; Daisha Washington, Palm Bay High School; Aaron Watson; Astronaut High School; Hope McGeady, Sebastian River High School; Travis Moody, Vero Beach High School; Samuel Moore, Saint Edward’s School; and Benjamin Ostman, Indian River Charter High School.

BREVARD COUNTY • MELBOURNE, FLORIDA – Congressman Bill Posey (R-Rockledge) presented the 2013 Congressional Medal of Merit to notable students of Florida’s 8th District at the Brevard County Government Complex this afternoon.

Rep. Bill Posey
Rep. Bill Posey

The Medal of Merit was originally established in 1942 by President Franklin D. Roosevelt to honor civilians of the United States and allies for exceptional service during World War II.

The distinguished students receiving the award are graduating seniors who were nominated by their principals in recognition of their outstanding academic achievement, a commitment to their communities, and civic involvement. They are leaders in the area of peer respect, school citizenship, and are involved in extracurricular activities.

“I congratulate these students for their hard work and commitment to making their schools and communities better places,” said Congressman Posey. “The Congressional Medal of Merit honors them for their contributions, leadership, and their achievements. I am delighted to recognize these deserving students with this award.”