Johnson To Lead Indian River Lagoon Committee

By  //  February 28, 2014

Florida Tech Professor confirmed as co-chair

BREVARD COUNTY, FLORIDA – Kevin Johnson, Florida Institute of Technology associate professor of oceanography and environmental science in the Department of Marine and Environmental Systems, has been confirmed as co-chair of the Indian River Lagoon National Estuary Program Technical Advisory Committee.


Kevin Johnson
Kevin Johnson

• Provide advice to the governing boards of South Florida and St. Johns River Water Management Districts regarding the implementation of the Comprehensive Conservation and Management Plan (CCMP);
• Provide direction and support to the Indian River Lagoon program office for the implementation of the objectives of the CCMP through a coordinated effort of local, state, and federal agencies as well as private stakeholders within its watershed;
• Set a schedule and milestones to evaluate implementation of the CCMP.”

Johnson will join co-chair, Joel Steward, recently retired from St. Johns River Water Management District, succeeding Florida Tech’s John Windsor, who served decades as the chair of the committee.