Brevard Public Schools Announce ABC Award Winners

By  //  February 2, 2015

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share on Delicious Digg This Stumble This

event was held at the Kings center jan. 28

ABOVE VIDEO: Brevard Public School’s Culinary Students provided special treats for the 2015 ABC Awards. The ABC (Applauding Brevard’s Champions) Awards Gala, presented by Community Credit Union and hosted by Brevard Schools Foundation was held on January 28, 2015 at the King Center in Melbourne.

BREVARD COUNTY, FLORIDA – The ABC (Applauding Brevard’s Champions) Awards Gala, presented by Community Credit Union and hosted by Brevard Schools Foundation was held on January 28, 2015 at the King Center in Melbourne.

TROPICAL-ELEMENTARY-110During the gala, Brevard Public Schools recognized and revealed the winners of various categories including: Administrators of the Year, Volunteers of the Year, Foundation Awards of Distinction, Employee of the Year (EOY), and the Teacher of the Year (TOY).

Amy Parsons, sixth grade language arts, reading and social studies teacher from Tropical Elementary, won this year’s noteworthy title of BPS’ Teacher of the Year (TOY).

Parsons, who has been employed by the district for 11 years, has served as Tropical’s sixth grade team leader, social studies contact, a member of BPS’ VIPS team, the Florida standards team, and as a peer coach for other teachers.

Parsons utilizes her excellent public speaking skills to lead professional development activities, during which she promotes new learning community strategies in the classroom.

Dr. Brian Binggeli

“The Brevard Schools Foundation has created a truly gala event to recognize and appreciate champions in our schools and in our community who give so much for the children we serve,” expressed Superintendent Dr. Brian Binggeli.

“We are so proud of the staff, teachers, administrators, volunteers and organizations honored during this program and we thank them for their exemplary service.”

During her acceptance speech, Parsons recognized the significance of her teaching philosophy by stating, “It’s not always what you teach, but how you teach it.

Amy Parsons
Amy Parsons

You’ll make a difference and the love and joy behind your teaching and it will be the strongest impression you can leave with your students.”

Michael Gillard, head custodian from MILA Elementary and school community mentor, was named BPS’ Employee of the Year (EOY). Gillard has been employed by the district for three years and in that time has made a deep impression on his school’s community.

Gillard’s school involvement, collaboration, and exceptional dedication to implementing health and safety practices to experience the best learning environment, serve as an excellent example to other staff.

“It is a privilege to represent Brevard County,” stated Gillard in his acceptance speech.

“This award is a representation of all of us working together for the good of the cause.”

Other winners honored during the evening included:

Brevard_Public_Schools_Logo-180Administrators of the Year

The Principal Achievement Award for Outstanding Leadership and The Outstanding Assistant Principal Award recognizes exemplary principals and assistant principals for their contributions to their schools and communities.

Brevard’s representatives are:

• Heather Price, Brevard Virtual School, 2014 Assistant Principal of the Year
• Dr. Michael Miller, Saturn Elementary School, 2014 Principal of the Year
Volunteers of the Year

The Outstanding School Volunteer Award recognizes school volunteers who have shown outstanding dedication and commitment to their school through volunteer service.

VIDEO: Belford Hosts Community Forum For District 1Related Story:
VIDEO: Belford Hosts Community Forum For District 1

This award has three categories –youth, adult, and senior.

Brevard’s winners are:

• Deanna Dickman, Volunteer of the Year – Youth, nominated by Dr. W.J. Creel Elementary School
• Theresa Paige, Volunteer of the Year – Adult, nominated by Christa McAuliffe Elementary School
• Lee Mace, Volunteer of the Year – Senior, nominated by Cocoa High School

Foundation Awards of Distinction
• National Space Club – Florida Committee, Group Champion
• BB&T, Corporate Champion
• Jane Davidson, Individual Champion
• The Galesi Family Foundation, Family Champion
• Community Credit Union, Local Business Champion
• Ben Buchanan, Take Stock in Children Champion

For more information regarding the ABC awards, please contact Janice Kershaw, executive director for the Brevard Schools Foundation, at 321-633-1000, ext. 756.