FIT: Nominations Now Open For 40 Great Moments in Sunshine State Conference History

By  //  August 25, 2015

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share on Delicious Digg This Stumble This
In Dec. 1988 the Florida Tech soccer team won the NCAA Div. II National Championship in Northridge, California. Pictured left to right, returning to Melbourne Airport are Baldur Bragason, Steve Freeman, Robin Chan and Bino Campanini. Star defender Dylan Lewis looks on in the background. Florida Tech soccer went on to win a second national championship just in 1991 (FIT Image)

BREVARD COUNTY • MELBOURNE, FLORIDA – On Dec. 12, 1975, the Sunshine State Conference opened competition with a men’s basketball game that pitted Florida Southern College against Eckerd College.

Since that day, the SSC has risen from a single sport organization to the Division II “Conference of National Champions.”

To commemorate the last 40 years, the conference office is collecting nominations for 40 Great Moments in Sunshine State Conference History.

Moments can include athletic excellence, academic excellence, community engagement and acts of good sportsmanship.

We invite current and past student-athletes, alumni, administrators, coaches and all fans to nominate their favorite moments.

Sports Information Directors from SSC member schools will select which moments will be highlighted on

Five moments will be announced each week beginning in early October and culminating on the Dec. 3 anniversary date.

83 Florida Tech Student Athletes Honored With D2ADA Academic Achievement AwardRelated Story:
83 Florida Tech Student Athletes Honored With D2ADA Academic Achievement Award

Nominations can be submitted via an online form or by emailing SSC Assistant Commissioner Robert Brennecke at

The deadline for submitting nominations is Monday, Sept. 21.

About the Sunshine State Conference

Since its inception, the Sunshine State Conference has grown steadily in sports played, membership, and national prominence. Members have won a total of 94 NCAA national championships across 11 sports. During the 2014-15 academic year, SSC schools won a conference record seven national titles. The SSC consists of nine member institutions, all within the state of Florida: Barry University (Miami Shores), Eckerd College (St. Petersburg), Florida Tech (Melbourne), Florida Southern College (Lakeland), Lynn University (Boca Raton), Nova Southeastern University (Fort Lauderdale), Rollins College (Winter Park), Saint Leo University (Saint Leo) and the University of Tampa.