VIDEO: Panthers To Face Former Florida Tech Players in First-Ever Basketball Alumni Game Tonight

By  //  October 26, 2017

7 p.m. at Clemente Center, Admission is Free

ABOVE VIDEO: Watch the premier edition of “Courtside with Billy Mims.” 

BREVARD COUNTY, MELBOURNE, FLORIDA — Local fans will be in for a treat as former members of the Florida Tech men’s basketball program are set to return to the Clemente Center on Thursday for an alumni game.

Tipoff for the alumni game is set for 7 p.m. and admission is free.

Florida Tech is led by head coach Billy Mims, who enters his 13th year at the helm of the Florida Tech men’s basketball team in 2016-17. This season will be his 32nd as a head coach and 37th year of coaching overall.

Mims is just 12 wins shy of one of basketball coaching’s top milestones, 600 wins.

The event is set to feature a number of former Panther standouts, including several who played a big part on the 2012 team that went onto to win the Sunshine State Conference tournament championship.

Arthur Richardson (2006-08), who earned a degree in business administration from FIT,  will serve as head coach of the alumni team. Julius Reid, current head coach for Florida Prep, will serve as a player and assistant coach on the alumni team as well.

They will compete against this year’s version of the Panthers, but expect the younger version of the team.

Coach Mims wants his young guys to play a lot and gain experience. The Midnight Madness Slam Dunk contest winner, Najee Jordan, who wears No. 23 and is from Jacksonville, should see significant playing time.

“Don’t be surprised to see Najee make a big play of dunk in this one,” said Mims during his show on Space Coast Daily, “Courtside with Billy Mims.”

Florida Tech Quarterback Mark Cato Repeats as Gulf South Conference Offensive Player of the WeekRelated Story:
Florida Tech Quarterback Mark Cato Repeats as Gulf South Conference Offensive Player of the Week

Making up the alumni team in this year’s game are:

  • Ryan Ballard (2006-09), Business Administration
  • Robert Booth (2013-17), Computer Science
  • Simon Cummings (2008-12), Business Administration
  • Edgars Eglitis (2008-12), Business Administration and MBA
  • Max Fisher (2013-17), Civil Engineering
  • Derek Hellemann (2008-12), Business Administration
  • Tim Jace (1998-03), Engineering
  • Akeem Johnson (2013-15), Business Administration
  • Ryan Maultsby (2002-06), Business Administration
  • EJ Murray (2004-08), Business Administration
  • Julius Reid (2009-13), Civil Engineering
  • Isaac Spence (2011-16), Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering
  • Cameron Stahl (2010-14), Aerospace Engineering