Kennedy Space Center Deputy Director Janet Petro Named To Florida Women’s Hall of Fame

By  //  September 28, 2018

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share on Delicious Digg This Stumble This

Kennedy Space Center's Janet Petro from Indian Harbour Beach

ABOVE VIDEO: 2018 Florida Women’s Hall of Fame Inductee Janet E. Petro. (Florida Women’s Hall of Fame Video)

BREVARD COUNTY, FLORIDA – The Florida Commission on the Status of Women yesterday inducted three new members into the Florida Women’s Hall of Fame at a distinguished ceremony in Orlando as a part of the Future of Florida Forum.

Celebrating its 36th anniversary, the Hall of Fame honored 2018 inductees Adela Hernandez Gonzmart, Lee Bird Leavengood and Janet E. Petro for significant contributions to the citizens of Florida.

“These three extraordinary women exemplify true leadership in their respective fields,” said Attorney General Bondi.

“From the community, to our schools and in service, each has done incredible work and have made giant positive impacts in Florida and improved the lives of countless people.”

The ceremony included an evening of honor with remarks from Florida Attorney General Pam Bondi; Doug Davidson, Chair of the Florida Chamber Foundation; Crystal Stiles, Director of Economic Development for Florida Power and Light Company, and Commissioners from the Florida Commission on the Status of Women. Joined by family and friends, the Hall of Fame celebrated the inductees with commemorative videos and remarks about the legacy of accomplishments and the contributions each made to the lives of people across Florida.

Anchored with an induction ceremony led by Florida Attorney General Pam Bondi, the inductees received replicas of the plaques to be placed on the Hall of Fame wall in the Florida Capitol Rotunda, as well as an American flag that flew over the United States Capitol in the inductees’ honor.

“The Commission’s partnership with the Florida Chamber Foundation has underscored the importance of collaboration, education, and celebration of the accomplishments of women who have made their mark on the State of Florida,” said Commission Chair Lady Dhyana Ziegler.

“These trailblazers have made history.”

Florida Governor Rick Scott selected the new Hall of Fame members from a group of 10 nominees chosen by the Florida Commission on the Status of Women.

Since its inception in 1982, the Hall of Fame has recognized and honored Florida women that made significant contributions to the improvement of life for all state citizens.

Some of the notable inductees include former U.S. Attorney General Janet Reno, singer Gloria Estefan, internationally-honored tennis athletes Chris Evert and Althea Gibson, pilot Betty Skelton Frankman, Bethune-Cookman College founder Mary McLeod Bethune, Congresswomen Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, Carrie Meek, Tillie Fowler and Ruth Bryan Owen; Florida Trend Publisher Lynda Keever, and Everglades advocate and suffragist Marjory Stoneman Douglas.

Janet E. Petro of Indian Harbour Beach began her professional career as a commissioned officer in the U.S. Army after graduating in 1981 from the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, N.Y., with a Bachelor of Science in engineering.

“I am pleased, honored and humbled to accept this award, and to be from KSC (Kennedy Space Center) and to join past recipients such as JoAnn Morgan who I have long-admired and respected,” said Janet E. Petro, deputy director of NASA’s John F. Kennedy Space Center.

“I would like to thank those who I have worked with and who have supported me throughout my career. And, of course, thank you to my extended family and friends for always supporting me.”

Janet E. Petro of Indian Harbour Beach began her professional career as a commissioned officer in the U.S. Army after graduating in 1981 from the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, N.Y., with a Bachelor of Science in engineering.

She served in the U.S. Army’s aviation branch with various assignments in Germany. She also holds a Master of Science in Business Administration from Boston University’s Metropolitan College.

Currently, as a member of the Senior Executive Service, Petro is the Deputy Director of NASA’s John F. Kennedy Space Center (KSC) in Florida. Appointed to the position in April 2007, she shares responsibility with the Director in managing the KSC team of approximately 9,000 civil service and contractor employees.

Ms. Petro consistently pioneers and implements novel business approaches that reduce barriers to collaboration and innovation. She provides executive leadership as well as short-term and long-term vision for the Center while overseeing the Nation’s premier commercial and Government launch complex.

Since the successful retirement of the Space Shuttle Program in 2011, she increased her far-reaching and lasting impact on NASA’s legacy by again helping to establish KSC’s future in the American space program and transforming KSC from a Government-centered launch facility into the Nation’s premier multiuser spaceport.

Ms. Petro ensured Agency and Center Partnership Boards were established, personally leading the KSC Board to explore, develop, implement, and sustain processes and other initiatives to use existing NASA capabilities, workforce, and facilities with commercial partners. Ms. Petro’s ability to establish and sustain KSC as the world’s preeminent multiuser launch complex directly supports Florida and the nation’s leadership in the space community.

For the second consecutive year, the Hall of Fame ceremony became part of the Florida Chamber Foundation’s annual Future of Florida Forum. The centralized location and expanded celebration presented a great opportunity to recognize the many ways women’s history is woven into the fabric of Florida and the United States in a more meaningful way.

Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex Offers Floridians Universe of Savings With Florida Four-Pack DealRelated Story:
Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex Offers Floridians Universe of Savings With Florida Four-Pack Deal

With the support of the Florida Chamber Foundation, the event streamed live for audiences around the state and attended by some of the leading voices in Florida government and business.

“Partnerships and collaboration matter to securing Florida’s future and we are proud to host the Women’s Hall of Fame during a milestone year. The honorees at this event are incredible examples of Floridians who made, and continue to make, Florida’s long-term future their focus,” said Tony Carvajal, Executive Vice President of the Florida Chamber Foundation.

This year’s inductees join current members on the walls of the Florida Capitol. Visitors can view all the Hall of Fame members immortalized on plaques in the Capitol Rotunda or on the Florida Women’s Hall of Fame website by visiting


Leave a Comment