Cocoa Police Clarify New Law Set to Take Effect in Florida July 1 That Doesn’t Require a Permit to Carry Concealed Firearm
By Space Coast Daily // June 29, 2023
Police: New Law DOES NOT MEAN OPEN CARRY
BREVARD COUNTY • COCOA, FLORIDA – Cocoa Police clarified the new rule beginning this Saturday, that Florida will no longer require a permit in order to carry a concealed firearm or weapon.
Police say this DOES NOT MEAN OPEN CARRY.
Here is an overview of the changes.
SUMMARY OF QUALIFYING INDIVIDUALS:
Any Individual who possesses a valid concealed weapons license.
Any individual who Is 21 years of age or older, UNLESS the individual:
■ Is not a U.S. citizen or permanent resident
■ Suffers from a physical condition that prevents the safe handling of a firearm.
■ Is a convicted felon under Florida or federal law;
■ Is a convicted felon in another state that was punishable by more than one year prison.
■ Chronically or habitually abuses alcohol or other substances.
■ Adjudicated mentally defective or committed to an institution for mental or substance abuse issues.
■ Is the subject of an active domestic violence or repeat violence injunction.
■ Convicted of a crime under Chapter 893, Drug Abuse Prevention and Control,
within the prior 3 years.
■ Had an adjudication withheld, a suspended sentence, or completed probation,
within the last 3 years on any of the following:
• A felony
• Any misdemeanor crime of domestic violence; and/or
• Any misdemeanor crime of violence, such as battery.
• Is prohibited from purchasing a firearm under Florida or Federal law.
■ Any individual under 21 years of age, regardless of state residency, who is an active service member or honorably discharged veteran of the United States Armed Forces who is not otherwise disqualified by any of the above factors.
The qualifiers listed above are just a summary. Police encourage citizens to read the entire statute to properly educate themselves on the law.
CLICK HERE TO READ THE FULL STATUTE