Prep Volleyball All-Stars Thrive On Competition

By  //  January 22, 2013

THE NORTH-SOUTH SENIOR SHOWCASE ALL-STAR VOLLEYBALL TEAM INCLUDED: North Team All Stars – Alexas Thomas (Cocoa), Elizabeth Tomsik (Cocoa Beach), Emma Dowdy (Edgewood), Morgan Van Alstine (Merritt Island), Aubrey Brown (Rockledge), Jessica Sholar (Space Coast), Lindsey Pugh (Titusville), Heather Welch (MI Christian), Jacilyn Rayl (Cocoa Beach), Danielle Klein (Merritt Island), Halle Dotson (Merritt Island), Bethany Rowell (MI Christian), Megan Ireland (Rockledge), Ashley Tang (Titusville) and Loren Silva (Cocoa Beach). South Tean All-Stars – Lauren Vanderveer (Eau Gallie), Crystal Toddy (Heritage), Savannah Hicks (Holy Trinity), Lindsey Short (Melbourne), Anna Erdman (Melbourne Central Catholic), Jenna Schaffer (Palm Bay), Deborah Carey (Satellite), Shelby Jelinek (Viera), Tess Sheets (West Shore), Mackenzie Conley (Eau Gallie), Isabel Carmona (Holy Trinity), Christine Moore (Viera), Alisha Bland (Viera), Alyssa Johnson (West Shore) and Emily Smith (Eau Gallie). ( image)

BREVARD COUNTY, FLORIDA – It was another great year for prep volleyball in Brevard County in 2012.

Led by perennial powerhouse Merritt Island, which advanced to the Class 6A championship game against Jensen Beach in Lakeland, eight other high schools on the Space Coast qualified for the state tournament.

This is a testament to the caliber and quality of play by prep teams in Brevard County and indicative of the level of competition and coaching at local schools.

Here’s a rundown of Space’s 2012 Prep Volleyball Player of the Year. Coach of the Year and 2012 Prep Volleyball All-Star Teams.

Award winners will be honored at the Space Coast Daily Spring Media Day on Feb. 10 at Mavericks Sports Grill on Merritt Island.

South Tops North In Senior Showcase All-Star Volleyball

2012 Volleyball Player of the Year

Senior outside hitter Morgan Van Alstrine of Merritt Island is the 2012 Prep Volleyball Player of the Year. (Image by John M. Egan)

Morgan Van Alstine (Merritt Island)

An outside hitter, Van Alstine is gearing up to take her game to the next level at the University of North Florida on a volleyball scholarship.

She dominated prep play as a member of Merritt Island’s varsity team, winning a Class 5A state championship as a junior and led the team back to the state title game this season.

During the 2012 season, Van Alstine recorded 333 kills, 67 total blocks and 18 serving aces.

Van Alstine has won just about every award a prep player can earn.

She was selected Most Valuable Player for the North Team of the Brevard County North-South Prep Volleyball Match – and was also named the Class 5A Player of the Year by the Florida Dairy Farmers and selected to compete in a number of prestigious post-season All-Star games.

Angie Patrick of Merritt Island has been honored as the 2012 SpaceCoast Prep Volleyball Coach of the Year. (Image by John M. Egan)

2012 Volleyball Coach of the Year

Angie Patrick (Merritt Island)

In 10 seasons as the coach of the Mustangs, all Patrick has done is guide Merritt Island to six district championships, a state title in 2011 and the state runner-up in 2012.

She has amassed a record of 218-64 during that time and continues to shape the careers of talented athletes that go on to earn scholarships to compete in college.

Her 2012 Merritt Island Mustangs went 26-6 and was the top prep team in Brevard County.

Volleyball All-Stars To Be Honored At Media Day Festivities

Volleyball All-Stars First Team

Morgan Van Alstine, (Merritt Island)

Savannah Hicks (Holy Trinity)

Danielle Klein (Merritt Island)

Shelby Jelinek (Viera)

Lauren Vanderveer (Eau Gallie)

Izzy Carmona  (Holy Trinity

Volleyball All-Stars Second Team

Halle Dotson (Merritt Island)

Mary Sweeney  (Cocoa Beach)

Alexis Thomas (Cocoa)

Christine Moore (Viera)

Emily Smith (Eau Gallie)

Rachel Petkosh (Merritt Island)

Volleyball All-Stars Honorable Mention 

Olivia Clack (Merritt Island)

Megan Sweeny (Cocoa Beach)

J’ena Baker (Rockledge)

Lindsey Pugh (Titusville)

Jenna Schaffer (Palm Bay)

Tess Sheets, (West Shore)

Anna Erdman (MCC)

Heather Welch (Merritt Island Christian)  

Jessica Feronti (Melbourne)